Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Fundamentals, Women Empowerment and RTI

These are Rahul Gandhi's three favorite words of all time. I just finished watching his interview on Times Now with Arnab Goswami. I have no idea why I sat through an hour and 20 minutes of completely pointless bullshit, but I did. Never have I heard a politician throw around the phrase "women empowerment" as loosely as Rahul Gandhi did in this interview.

The entire interview felt like Rahul Gandhi was given a sheet with phrases he needed to incorporate into every single answer. His favorite phrases/words, hands down, were fundamental, women empowerment, and RTI, change the system. Good job using every single word you were asked to use in the interview multiple times by your PR team.

He also mentioned Congress believes in the Panchayat Raj. Someone should ask him if its the same Panchayat Raj that girls shouldn't wear jeans and carry cell phones and that Chinese food sends your hormones on a roller coaster ride. Or even better, is it the same Panchayat Raj that sentenced a girl to be gang raped by 8 Panchayat members on a raised platform while the rest of the village watched.

Someone also explain to him that decreasing gas cylinder prices is not the sole path to women empowerment. Actually that is absolutely not the path to women empowerment. He probably didn't realize he contradicted himself by using women empowerment and Panchayat Raj in the same conversation. Shouldn't the Vice President of one of India's most powerful political parties be slightly more intelligent than this?

Neither could he agree to a debate with Narendra Modi nor could he give a direct response to Modi taunting him by calling him shehzada. Either he's incredibly stupid or so apathetic he's stopped giving a shit. I'd go with the second, considering his interview, the first in 10 years, was an absolute failure. Maybe he should have stuck to "concentrating my energy inside the party" or whatever excuse he gave.

I have never wanted to face palm so hard in my life. You'd think his first interview in 10 years, and he'd at least make an effort to sound intelligent, having gone to Trinity and all. But nope, he made a complete and utter fool of himself.

But what really bothered me was that  he kept on saying "Gujarat happened, people died". The emphasis on this statement isn't going to change anything. And if you're giving an interview on national television, shouldn't you be armed with facts if you insist on saying the Gujarat Riots of 2002 and the anti-Sikh riots of 1984 were different. If repeatedly saying the 1984 riots were different than Gujarat riots would change anything, wouldn't we all be repeatedly chanting about things we wanted? You'd think a grown man, who's been involved in politics for 10 years, would understand the power of facts. Clearly, he is like a child who thinks repeating things will make them come true.

Any intelligent person might have taken this opportunity to dispel any doubt there is of him being an incapable leader, by giving clear, to-the-point answers which make sense and not answers that seem excessively vague. So is he just incredibly stupid or dodging every single question on purpose?

All Rahul Gandhi managed to accomplish in this interview was to give more reasons for BJP to mock him at every turn. He's definitely not going to be allowed to forget this disaster of an interview for a long long time to come. 

No comments:

Post a Comment