Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Good things come to those who stay up late procrastinating on their 3 page paper

I might never go to Six Flags, unless blindfolded and kidnapped by my friends. I might never actually sit on one of those roller coasters, but that doesn't mean I don't experience the roller coaster every week. Every Monday starts with a firm belief in the fact that I will get a job after graduation. Tuesday comes along and the firm belief turns into a probably. Wednesday rolls in and I am at half enthusiasm already. Thursday brings with it a might not. Friday is probably not. And the weekend? The weekend I sit at home contemplating if I can eat chips and watch sitcoms forever. Sunday night is when the usual panic sets in. No one can blame me for not wanting to go on a real roller coaster. My very own roller coaster has quiet a lot of loops and climbs and falls. No wonder I absolutely hate Six Flags. That and my irrational fear that I will lose my glasses on a ride somewhere.
Accompanying me on this roller coaster ride is the current weather. I leave for a class in the morning wearing a pair of boats, change into flats by mid day and by late afternoon, I am almost on flip flops. Thank you weather, for making me change my clothes practically three times a day. Just what I needed in addition to the massive amounts of homework I have. And I'm still just sitting here, freezing in my own apartment, drinking Snapple from a Rutgers glass, with my planner open beside me to remind me of the massive amount of stuff I should be doing, and still not doing anything. Oh Senior year! When you can give a shit and not give a shit at the same time.
There's no problem with staying up studying till 2 am everyday for an entire week. Save for the fact that I get hysterical fits of laughter browsing Imgur when I'm taking "breaks" from studying. And I laugh all alone. Still drinking my Snapple. Still too lazy to get up and increase the temperature so I don't get frostbite. Wait it just increased on its own. Oh the marvels of modern technology.
To Snapple or not to Snapple, that is the question.
To sleep or not to sleep, that is the question.
To procrastinate or not to procrastinate, that is the question.
To scrub the stove or not to scrub the stove, that is the question.
About time I go to sleep on the couch because I have no time to put away the mound of clothes piled on my bed. 

Sunday, September 22, 2013

And there goes the weekend again

Entertaining people is an art form in itself. All my life I have seen my mother feed people with an abundance of food, love and class. After coming here, it was my sister who taught me the rest. Having seen all this, I take it for granted that people know what the basic rules of socializing are. Therefore, when people around me fail to follow these basic set of rules, it surprises me to no end. I assume that if you're older than me, you know a little more than me, and when you don't, it amazes me. It also amuses me to see that people are completely and utterly clueless about basic things like RSVPing and actually showing up, throwing your trash when you're done with the disposable stuff. Seriously, get your shit together.
I often have arguments with people about how apologizing is pointless. Even after arguments with my best friend about it, I still consider it quiet pointless. I mean really. How is going to help when you apologize to someone after putting a bullet through their leg or something? Or how is it going to help if you're going to apologize to someone after publicly insulting them? Or slapping them? Or throwing a rock at them? I fail to see how that helps the other person. Really, if you were sorry, you wouldn't have done it in the first place. I am assuming those who disagree with me forgive easily? I don't. That makes life too simple. And a simple life is no fun at all, is it now?
I went out for dinner with my roommate tonight. We went to our favorite place Mamoun's in downtown New Brunswick. Since it's a Sunday, it's pretty crowded in there. We got there and saw a car parked by a fire hydrant, which isn't really allowed here. And we saw a cop car right behind the car. We waited outside in the cold for about 10 minutes to see the drama unfold in front of our eyes as the cop gave the other person a ticket. Sadly, that didn't happen. We were pretty disappointed on not having gotten out share of drama for the day. But when a door closes, well it closes I guess? You have to push it open to get that well deserved dose of entertainment.
Argh so much to look forward to in the coming few months. Catching fire releases in November, the third book in the Divergent series should be out soon, the Harry Potter spin off movie, which will happen god knows when, but all the interesting gossip about it. also The Fault in Our Stars. I might have to get a pack of tissues just for that one movie. I am so glad I read that book alone. No one could see me sobbing and whimpering about how unfair the world is. Also Bridge to Terabithia.

Just found two new people to crush on for the next few months. Sigh. It's not a picture its a gif. OMG. Forgive me while I stare at my own blog post for the next couple of hours.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

The art of not doing anything but simultaneously doing everything

Three weeks into the semester and I have realized my weekends are not meant for sleeping and eating anymore. They are meant for running around trying to do what I couldn't during the entire week. Welcome to Senior Year, I tell myself every single time I have one of these epic epiphanies. I have spent the past 3 weekends waking up before 2 pm and actually doing something. I feel the need to reward myself with a huge breakfast though.
I have also realized I am incapable of using Itunes in anyway whatsoever apart from simply filling up my ipod with songs I will not listen to after a month. I tried creating a playlist. Fail. I tried adding videos to my ipod once upon a time. Fail. I tried adding podcasts once. Fail. Every single time. I have officially given up trying to make it work.
Washi tape is my new favorite thing. I already have all my files, all my keys, my drawers decorated with it. If I could, I'd plaster my entire apartment with Washi tape. I am like one of those High School/ Middle School kids hell bent on decorating everything they own. Probably never going to grow out of it. Yep I can now call kids in school kids considering I am a senior and about to graduate but still in denial about that fact.
Although I am not complaining about my weekends considering I met a bunch of fun people over the weekend. The tough part came when I had to wake up at 9 am the next day and trek to the other campus to attend a meeting. But yeah, totally worth it.
But what hasn't changed in senior year is the fact that I procrastinate as much as I used to. My favorite mode of procrastinating as has always been writing a blog post instead of studying, or working on a paper, or sometimes even paying my phone bill, or looking for a textbook online considering I am absolutely unwilling to pay $155 for a textbook. But the list goes on. I guess I should be thankful I am not procrastinating by writing a blog post at 3 am in the night. Yet. Those days shall also come.
What is so frustrating is I am midway through the second book of Game of Thrones and I can't finish it. I don't want to watch the tv series before I read all of them but I really want to know what happened. Ugh people-who-actually-read problems. But Joffrey is most definitely a little shit.
I was procrastinating on Imgur earlier today I cam across a picture which listed all kinds procrastinators. And my first reaction was waittttt, I am all of them combined into one person. Becoming a mentor has not helped my procrastination unfortunately, the incurable disease that it is.


(http://imgur.com/account/favorites/LxEszXd))

I'll leave this right here for everyone who procrastinates to contemplate where they went wrong in life for about two minutes and then go back to procrastinating.

Friday, September 13, 2013

Senior Year Sadness

The end of summer is always bittersweet. There is the excitement of a new semester and the depressing fact that you're going to have to stop being lazy and step up your game. When summer began, as usual I did not realize that three months in India would pass by in the blink of an eye. Yet, like every single time, I wish I had done a lot of things during the time that I did nothing.
Three years later, and the flight back does not get any easier. If anything, it gets tougher. This time around, there was the uncertainty of not knowing when I will go back home again. There was also the doubt and the questions about what I am going to do with the rest of my life. Considering graduation is less than a year away. If you thought school was fun and you absolutely loved it and never want to leave, think again. College is 5 times that.
I really do have mixed feelings about graduating. Quiet often, the thought of coming back to school after graduation has crossed my mind. If only to escape the real world. But really, how long can that go on for anyway? There's the reluctance to take on all this responsibility but there's also the excitement of earning my own money and shopping. My apartment isn't helping either. I am so used to living in a brand new apartment with all these facilities and my amazing roommate, only after 2 weeks, that I definitely do not want to leave. But real life calls.
Looking down on first years in disdain is the true sign of being a senior. First years, not freshmen, because that's sexist. The other day when a friend said everyone who is "manning" the tables was told by me that that's pretty sexist and "womanning" should also be a word.
I realized today evening I haven't written a blog post in practically four months. When I told my roommate, her first question was what exactly did I do the entire summer. Well, eat and sleep I told her. What else was my summer for? Apart from a ton of family drama, an internship where I learnt how to tie a fishtail braid, a failed attempt at studying Business Law, brushing up on my really rusty gujju cooking skills and of course, all the Hindi serial/soap operas/ dramas. Such an eventful summer this was.
Also the picture that won my heart last night (source: http://imgur.com/gallery/Rf4pbT5)



My roommate and I had a hysterical fit of laughter when we saw this picture. Upon close inspection, the fact that the balloons are red and the rest of the picture has no color made us laugh even harder. For the life of me I cannot figure out whether it was the picture that set us off or the lack of food or the late hour. It's still hilarious though. Tim really doesn't give a shit. See how he took off without his feet? Brb after another round of hysterical laughter.