Wednesday, December 25, 2013

Obsessions and Christmas and Over-priced Textbooks.

Since I'm on break, I'm on Imgur all the time. And I feel like I missed out on something, some tiny little detail. Selfies! And I was like waiittttt, when did Imgur become Facebook, or Instagram? All these pretty girls with pretty eyes and pretty hair and pretty makeup and I've just been sitting here in my PJs all day long. Merry Christmas? Heh.

My obsession with Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Divergent and Game of Thrones is getting slightly out of hand. No wait, make that a little more than slightly out of hand. I cried through Mockingjay, because I knew what was going to happen, since I have managed to read the entire series multiple times in the past year or so. I have also finished each season of Game of Thrones in a day each. Of course, that doesn't count the books. And agh I can't wait for the Divergent movie to come out! My obsession with books has increased tenfold since I got a new Kindle. I hunt for names of books and put them on my Kindle. I then proceed to read them like I have never read a book before.

Although I prefer to think that I took my obsession to a completely different level when I was gifted a $50 Amazon gift card! Imagine all the hunger games pins and deathly hallows charms and Ravenclaw Scarf and GoT mini-statues I could buy!! So I started shopping and I managed to find a ton of stuff I could get, including the second and the third Harry Potter hardcover with the American illustration. Then I go to my winter class. The textbook is a whopping $180. Me being me, I refuse to spend that kind of money to buy a textbook. I looked for it in the school library. Nope. I looked for it in the inter-library borrowing system thing. Nope. Internet. Nope. Amazon, yes. The Kindle edition cost 50 dollars and 33 cents, to be precise, to RENT, which makes buying the actual book a completely different matter. Clearly, Pearson is not aware of the concept that college students are supposed to be broke. Well neither are all those companies that make college apparel, since the cheapest Rutgers hoodie I can find is $35. But really though, I ended up spending all that money on the e-book rental. Such is my life.

All I wanted for Christmas was a mockingjay pin, a deathly hallows necklace, a mockingjay + deathly hallows decal, the second and the third Harry Potter books, a mini Jon Snow and Daenerys Targaryen, A Lord Voldemort tank top, a golden snitch necklace, a couple of boxes of Bertie Bott's every flavour jelly beans, a Ravenclaw scarf, a deathly hallows, snitch and owl leather bracelet, but nope, not you.

Also the Red Wedding episode was HORRIBLE. But I know what happens after that. Ehahahaha! But I am going to be nice and not spoil it! But I was on an ebook roll today and I found some amazing books. Although since the time I got the Kindle (Which is not even an entire month), I have managed to pick up the most depressing books ever, even if they were extremely well written and I loved them. I finished the books and felt sad! That's like every Game of Thrones Episode ever. Just putting it out there that Rains of Castamere is the best thing ever right now.

I am still accepting Christmas Gifts. Just saying.


Saturday, December 7, 2013

My super late Thanksgiving appreciation post

I am not someone who appreciates people around her enough. I am as bad at giving out compliments as I am at dealing with compliments given to me. But it's Thanksgiving, and I currently reside in a country which celebrates this festival with food, family and an insane amount of shopping. You can't help but get into the holiday spirit.
Although this is super late, I am thankful for my parents. My parents are pretty darn awesome, sending me this far and letting me study what I want and sending me food all the time! If it wasn't for them , I wouldn't be here. Duh. Also my sister, I have been fighting with her some 22 years now, but only I get to do that and that doesn't make her any less awesome.
And I am thankful for sugar and caffeine. Two things that keep me going during finals week.Along with my roommate. We nag each other to study, which is a very effective study strategy. Also my friends, you know who you are, for being complete idiots, just like me.
I am thankful for being born a girl, in a family where I was never told I couldn't do it because I was a girl. I am thankful for having the culture and traditions I grew up with. Where do you think my awesome Kathiawadi accent comes from? Which has me pronouncing Africa in a real funny way, but I like it! It is a reminder of where I come from, who I am, and where will I go back to. Never ever forget where you come from.
I am also thankful for the amazing people I have met at Rutgers, the people I have worked with and am working with. My Rutgers experience wouldn't have been the same without all of you!
I am definitely not thankful I have to give a ton of finals in the next couple of weeks. But you gotta do what you gotta do, which unfortunately includes exams and papers.

I am also super super thankful for the new kindle! This should help me get started on the 100 or so books on my to-read list.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Is it Friday yet?

How tough is it really to understand that not every feminist is a screaming, shouting, angry woman who hates men. No really, there are peace loving feminists too. It's kind of frustrating to get through people's thick heads that feminism is about equality, not about who is superior. Also it is really hypocritical for people to judge other people based on where they come from when everyone is fighting for the same cause. And  I don't think it is too much to ask men to respect women. Granted, the majority of men I know do, but of course, there's always the few who are complete idiots. And really, if I argue with you, I am going to do it with facts and evidence and as much of it as I can find. "It just is" is not a legit argument.

So I dressed up as Wednesday Adams on a Wednesday. Genius! I stuffed my candy in my roommate's borrowed waist belt. Genius again. The key to dressing up as a good Wednesday Adams is being able to copy her mean, well not mean, more like absolute lack of expression. I tried, and succeeded. A little. For someone who's dressed up for Halloween for the first time, I'd say I did a pretty good job. And people recognised who I was. So that's a double success. Boo yah!

The best part of the evening definitely was having a conversation with the Dean of the college. While one of the other Deans listed everything my roommate and I were involved in at Douglass. Which was pretty awesome. Also all the Deans dressing up for the event. Also the s'mores. I lost count after the 3rd or the 4th marshmallow. Teeheee.

Marshmallow reminds ,me of the Veronica Mars movie! Speaking of new movies,Catching Fire is out soon. The trailers gave me goosebumps. The movie will reduce me to a blubbering mess of tears and snot. Not to self, take a pack of tissues to try and wipe off the ocean of tears. Also Divergent will be out next year. Also the third book in the Divergent Trilogy, Allegiant is out.

Success is finishing the second book in the Game of Thrones series. Finally! It took forever. Now I have a big fat book that I will carry around all the time, just so I can read 4 pages on the bus. Totally worth it. Looks like I might finally be able to watch Game of Thrones in the winter break. So much to do and so little time.

To the guy in Starbucks who looked me up and down when I walked in, still in my Wednesday Adams costume. I don't seem to recall asking for your judgmental expression or your weird-ass looks. Nor do I recall putting all the layers of make up on you or making you dress up as Wednesday Adams. So how about you get back to that book you're reading because next time I shall punch you in your face and/or down there (for lack of a politer word). Will that wipe the judgmental look off your face?

I shall return to A Storm of Swords sincerely hoping I can wake up at 8 am and go to work tomorrow. 

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Good things come to those who stay up late procrastinating on their 3 page paper

I might never go to Six Flags, unless blindfolded and kidnapped by my friends. I might never actually sit on one of those roller coasters, but that doesn't mean I don't experience the roller coaster every week. Every Monday starts with a firm belief in the fact that I will get a job after graduation. Tuesday comes along and the firm belief turns into a probably. Wednesday rolls in and I am at half enthusiasm already. Thursday brings with it a might not. Friday is probably not. And the weekend? The weekend I sit at home contemplating if I can eat chips and watch sitcoms forever. Sunday night is when the usual panic sets in. No one can blame me for not wanting to go on a real roller coaster. My very own roller coaster has quiet a lot of loops and climbs and falls. No wonder I absolutely hate Six Flags. That and my irrational fear that I will lose my glasses on a ride somewhere.
Accompanying me on this roller coaster ride is the current weather. I leave for a class in the morning wearing a pair of boats, change into flats by mid day and by late afternoon, I am almost on flip flops. Thank you weather, for making me change my clothes practically three times a day. Just what I needed in addition to the massive amounts of homework I have. And I'm still just sitting here, freezing in my own apartment, drinking Snapple from a Rutgers glass, with my planner open beside me to remind me of the massive amount of stuff I should be doing, and still not doing anything. Oh Senior year! When you can give a shit and not give a shit at the same time.
There's no problem with staying up studying till 2 am everyday for an entire week. Save for the fact that I get hysterical fits of laughter browsing Imgur when I'm taking "breaks" from studying. And I laugh all alone. Still drinking my Snapple. Still too lazy to get up and increase the temperature so I don't get frostbite. Wait it just increased on its own. Oh the marvels of modern technology.
To Snapple or not to Snapple, that is the question.
To sleep or not to sleep, that is the question.
To procrastinate or not to procrastinate, that is the question.
To scrub the stove or not to scrub the stove, that is the question.
About time I go to sleep on the couch because I have no time to put away the mound of clothes piled on my bed. 

Sunday, September 22, 2013

And there goes the weekend again

Entertaining people is an art form in itself. All my life I have seen my mother feed people with an abundance of food, love and class. After coming here, it was my sister who taught me the rest. Having seen all this, I take it for granted that people know what the basic rules of socializing are. Therefore, when people around me fail to follow these basic set of rules, it surprises me to no end. I assume that if you're older than me, you know a little more than me, and when you don't, it amazes me. It also amuses me to see that people are completely and utterly clueless about basic things like RSVPing and actually showing up, throwing your trash when you're done with the disposable stuff. Seriously, get your shit together.
I often have arguments with people about how apologizing is pointless. Even after arguments with my best friend about it, I still consider it quiet pointless. I mean really. How is going to help when you apologize to someone after putting a bullet through their leg or something? Or how is it going to help if you're going to apologize to someone after publicly insulting them? Or slapping them? Or throwing a rock at them? I fail to see how that helps the other person. Really, if you were sorry, you wouldn't have done it in the first place. I am assuming those who disagree with me forgive easily? I don't. That makes life too simple. And a simple life is no fun at all, is it now?
I went out for dinner with my roommate tonight. We went to our favorite place Mamoun's in downtown New Brunswick. Since it's a Sunday, it's pretty crowded in there. We got there and saw a car parked by a fire hydrant, which isn't really allowed here. And we saw a cop car right behind the car. We waited outside in the cold for about 10 minutes to see the drama unfold in front of our eyes as the cop gave the other person a ticket. Sadly, that didn't happen. We were pretty disappointed on not having gotten out share of drama for the day. But when a door closes, well it closes I guess? You have to push it open to get that well deserved dose of entertainment.
Argh so much to look forward to in the coming few months. Catching fire releases in November, the third book in the Divergent series should be out soon, the Harry Potter spin off movie, which will happen god knows when, but all the interesting gossip about it. also The Fault in Our Stars. I might have to get a pack of tissues just for that one movie. I am so glad I read that book alone. No one could see me sobbing and whimpering about how unfair the world is. Also Bridge to Terabithia.

Just found two new people to crush on for the next few months. Sigh. It's not a picture its a gif. OMG. Forgive me while I stare at my own blog post for the next couple of hours.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

The art of not doing anything but simultaneously doing everything

Three weeks into the semester and I have realized my weekends are not meant for sleeping and eating anymore. They are meant for running around trying to do what I couldn't during the entire week. Welcome to Senior Year, I tell myself every single time I have one of these epic epiphanies. I have spent the past 3 weekends waking up before 2 pm and actually doing something. I feel the need to reward myself with a huge breakfast though.
I have also realized I am incapable of using Itunes in anyway whatsoever apart from simply filling up my ipod with songs I will not listen to after a month. I tried creating a playlist. Fail. I tried adding videos to my ipod once upon a time. Fail. I tried adding podcasts once. Fail. Every single time. I have officially given up trying to make it work.
Washi tape is my new favorite thing. I already have all my files, all my keys, my drawers decorated with it. If I could, I'd plaster my entire apartment with Washi tape. I am like one of those High School/ Middle School kids hell bent on decorating everything they own. Probably never going to grow out of it. Yep I can now call kids in school kids considering I am a senior and about to graduate but still in denial about that fact.
Although I am not complaining about my weekends considering I met a bunch of fun people over the weekend. The tough part came when I had to wake up at 9 am the next day and trek to the other campus to attend a meeting. But yeah, totally worth it.
But what hasn't changed in senior year is the fact that I procrastinate as much as I used to. My favorite mode of procrastinating as has always been writing a blog post instead of studying, or working on a paper, or sometimes even paying my phone bill, or looking for a textbook online considering I am absolutely unwilling to pay $155 for a textbook. But the list goes on. I guess I should be thankful I am not procrastinating by writing a blog post at 3 am in the night. Yet. Those days shall also come.
What is so frustrating is I am midway through the second book of Game of Thrones and I can't finish it. I don't want to watch the tv series before I read all of them but I really want to know what happened. Ugh people-who-actually-read problems. But Joffrey is most definitely a little shit.
I was procrastinating on Imgur earlier today I cam across a picture which listed all kinds procrastinators. And my first reaction was waittttt, I am all of them combined into one person. Becoming a mentor has not helped my procrastination unfortunately, the incurable disease that it is.


(http://imgur.com/account/favorites/LxEszXd))

I'll leave this right here for everyone who procrastinates to contemplate where they went wrong in life for about two minutes and then go back to procrastinating.

Friday, September 13, 2013

Senior Year Sadness

The end of summer is always bittersweet. There is the excitement of a new semester and the depressing fact that you're going to have to stop being lazy and step up your game. When summer began, as usual I did not realize that three months in India would pass by in the blink of an eye. Yet, like every single time, I wish I had done a lot of things during the time that I did nothing.
Three years later, and the flight back does not get any easier. If anything, it gets tougher. This time around, there was the uncertainty of not knowing when I will go back home again. There was also the doubt and the questions about what I am going to do with the rest of my life. Considering graduation is less than a year away. If you thought school was fun and you absolutely loved it and never want to leave, think again. College is 5 times that.
I really do have mixed feelings about graduating. Quiet often, the thought of coming back to school after graduation has crossed my mind. If only to escape the real world. But really, how long can that go on for anyway? There's the reluctance to take on all this responsibility but there's also the excitement of earning my own money and shopping. My apartment isn't helping either. I am so used to living in a brand new apartment with all these facilities and my amazing roommate, only after 2 weeks, that I definitely do not want to leave. But real life calls.
Looking down on first years in disdain is the true sign of being a senior. First years, not freshmen, because that's sexist. The other day when a friend said everyone who is "manning" the tables was told by me that that's pretty sexist and "womanning" should also be a word.
I realized today evening I haven't written a blog post in practically four months. When I told my roommate, her first question was what exactly did I do the entire summer. Well, eat and sleep I told her. What else was my summer for? Apart from a ton of family drama, an internship where I learnt how to tie a fishtail braid, a failed attempt at studying Business Law, brushing up on my really rusty gujju cooking skills and of course, all the Hindi serial/soap operas/ dramas. Such an eventful summer this was.
Also the picture that won my heart last night (source: http://imgur.com/gallery/Rf4pbT5)



My roommate and I had a hysterical fit of laughter when we saw this picture. Upon close inspection, the fact that the balloons are red and the rest of the picture has no color made us laugh even harder. For the life of me I cannot figure out whether it was the picture that set us off or the lack of food or the late hour. It's still hilarious though. Tim really doesn't give a shit. See how he took off without his feet? Brb after another round of hysterical laughter. 

Sunday, May 5, 2013

Time to dig up those playlists which make no sense

There's a time to hold on and there's a time to let go. The problem is, we often fail to see which is which. We often try to hold on when it's time to let go and let go when we should actually hold on. No one ever said life is fair.

I personally believe every song has a memory associated with it. My entire playlist has tid bits of memories associated with it. "Coming Home" by Diddy- Dirty Money (that's a hilarious name btw) is my song for the first summer I went home. "Secrets" and "All the right moves" are associated with my freshmen year first semester. "Requiem for a tower" was now writing a long paper song in my sophomore second semester. I have semester specific, task specific songs.

Often I suggest songs I listen to, to a friend and get suggestions back. Sometimes I like them, sometimes I don't. It usually takes me a few times of repeatedly listening to the song to form an opinion about it. Sometimes I fall in love with it on the first try.

Almost two years ago, a friend sent me the song "Teardrop" by Massive Attack. I took me a while to listen to the song. The fact that it wouldn't buffer on YouTube in India was probably one of the main reasons. The song is popular for being the theme song for the tv series House. Sometimes the song doesn't make sense then, but it does a little later. Sometimes it makes sense two years later. Here I am, watching House and the song comes on and it hits me. There's always a memory behind a song. There's always a reason you fall in love with a song. Nah it doesn't have to be all deep meaning and shit. Sometimes it's just the right time when the song makes sense.

House and his sarcasm. I now have an idea of the level of sarcasm I need to achieve. Believe it or not, that is actually one of my life goals apart from earning so much money that I can buy myself a walk in wardrobe filled with clothes, without feeling guilty about it. Yea I am kind of shallow that way. Add to that publishing a book someday and I have three life goals. Not bad for someone who hasn't even graduated yet. Pretty proud of myself right now!

Of course I have other songs for specific times and places and people. But if I began right now, I'd never be able to end. Considering I have an important day ahead of me tomorrow, trying to run an entire ceremony between 3 people is not an easy task, I should maybe get some sleep and watch some more House. 

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Denial, repression and graduation

Every year, at the end of the Spring semester, I end up sitting down and thinking about where the entire year went. Rutgers day and Sacred Path are two of my favorite things that happen every year at the end of the Spring Semester. As much as I love the excitement associated with both of these, they also bring up feelings of things coming to an end.

We all have our own way of dealing with the end of things. The ending of an academic year means one more year of college that went by god knows where. One more year closer to graduation. One more year closer to leaving college. One more year closer to trying to get a job and setting foot in the real world. No pressure. Not scary at all. With one of my closest friends at college graduating this year, there's also this sense of all of us growing up. There is also a sense of uncertainty because we don't what is going to happen to each of us after this May and next may. Scary? Nope.

We're all dealing with our friend graduating part in our own ways I guess. Denial being strong. Repression being second strongest. Thoughts of his graduation lead to thoughts of my graduation. Fun? Totally. But there's so much more to do before graduating. The first thing being giving this year's finals to actually get to this fun thing called senior year. Whoever said Junior year is shit, was a genius. The last two semesters have been the best and worst semesters I have ever had. Also the weirdest. I met people and became friends with people I never thought I could get along with. Surprise surprise.

My mom was talking to me about something the other day on Skype, how expectations lead to disappointment. Funny how that has been a consistent statement all my life. Mothers teach you real life shit.

Not to say I haven't ever been on the opposite end of that where I have miserably disappointed someone. I keep bitching about people not measuring up to my expectations but I often forget sometimes I fail to do the same. And my apologies for that. I know it's not fun being on the side where people miserably fail at matching up to your expectations and are complete idiots. I apologize for being a complete idiot the few times I have been one, because face it, the rest of the time, I am pretty awesome.

I need to link my blog thing to my Spotify thing, so that I can bombard the world with the weird music combinations I listen to and my latest music obsessions.

Hopefully the gif loads. All credit goes to tumblr for ruining my night because I can't seem to keep myself from scrolling through it every half an hour.


Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Spring oh spring, where art thou?

The weather in the past couple of weeks has been crazy. I keep repeating to myself in my head. "Welcome to Jersey, where April is December". Anyone who was in or around Jersey in the last two weeks would agree. April is almost over. The sun should be shining 7 days a week, not just 2 random days. I saw people in boots and gloves the day before yesterday and in shorts and skirts today. Not cool weather, not cool.

Don't get me wrong, I am not a fan of the sun. I don't sun bathe and shit. I am just tired of wearing layers and  full sleeved clothes. I just want to wear my skirts and shorts and dresses without having to go through my wardrobe and look for a matching pair of stockings. I also want to consistently, day after day, roll around in the mini lake thingy on my college campus. Rolling around doesn't count as sun bathing. 

If today's weather keeps up, I won't bitch about the broken heating system in my dorm, I promise. 

Because I don't know what else to write, I am going to end right here with my current favorite harry potter reference picture. You're welcome.


Monday, April 8, 2013

The post that cannot be named

Life lessons are tough. Because they burst your bubbles. I take about bursting bubbles all the time because that's how often it happens to me. Here I am, happily believing that things are going great in a particular direction. Along comes someone, who usually, unknowingly, changes the direction in which things are going. And baamm, my train of thought does an about turn and rushes off into another direction. If I could visually explain all this, it would consist of a video of a train going in one direction, a man with superhuman powers stopping the train with the palm of his hands and turning it into another direction. Yes, this probably makes even lesser sense then it did two sentences ago.

So new obsession, Veronica Mars. I discovered it a little late, about 6 years late since that is when the last season ended. However I discovered it right before Spring Break. People thought I was crazy when I was commuting back and forth from Lyndhurst and watching Veronica Mars all through the 1 hour 45 min commute each way. Oh the weird looks I got sometimes because I would switch on my laptop even before my butt reached the train seat.

Jason Dohring is too perfect for words. If only he was brown. And no, that's not racist at all!

I felt like such a smart person when I stole Jelly from the dining hall. A nutella bottle full of jelly. I was giggling to myself as I poured that jelly from the bowl into the jar. Like a crazy person giggle, not just a hehehehe. But a much longer version of that.

I am just so incredibly stupid I couldn't stop watching back to back episodes of Hip Hip Hurray, a really old Indian TV show. For me watching that show is going back to high school all over again. We might not have been as mischievous as the people in the show, but hey, we had our fair share of fights and pranks.

Sometimes I have such enlightening thoughts in my head, such amazing words of wisdom I surprise myself. I am going to start writing them down and then have a new blog post titled "My absolutely amazing words of wisdom". Oh the world definitely needs my words of wisdom. Someday...

This is going to be my Voldemort post, because I cannot come up with a title. Get it? He who must not be named? If you did not get the Potter reference, shame on you. Go read the entire Harry Potter series RIGHT NOW. And if you're someone I talk to on a regular basis and you do not get this reference, let me know so I can officially disown you.

That's all for tonight. Another 3 AM post, all because I am trying to fix my resume. Oh the difficulties of being a Junior. Sigh.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Celebrating the weaker sex

Amidst studying for Business Law and International Marketing, and trying to stay awake during exams, and despite that, failing and napping in the middle of the exam, I forgot today is International Women's day. Happy Women's day. We are awesome, and we do not need the rest of the world to endorse the fact before believing it ourselves. We do not need anyone else to tell us what an amazing job we do, we do it because hey, we're just that awesome.
It was probably the right time to finish the third book in the Shiva Triology, The Oath of the Vayuputras. The highlight of the book was Sati, Shiva's wife. Her courage, her brave spirit, her defiance, her will to fight back, everything is so inspiring. Perhaps the real credit goes to the writer who put all this into words. Not giving away the ending of the book for everyone who hasn't been able to read it yet, reading the third book was like finishing Deathly Hollows. I don't know what to do with my life anymore. Except of course, I have two exams next week, I have to look for a place to live in the coming couple of weeks when they throw me out of my dorm, and try and impress companies so that they give me an internship. But all that aside,  I really don't know what to do with my life anymore.
The worst part for a person who reads all the time is the fact that they get attached to the characters in a story. When the book ends, or a series ends, well, it sucks. A lot. It's like you have to let a very good friend go. Foe someone who has attachment issues in real life, the world of books does not make my life any easier.
My latest music obsession is Coke Studio. If you don't know what it is, look it up on YouTube. You're welcome.
So about napping in the middle of an exam. I am a night person, so much so that I could have slept for 12 hours tonight, but instead I chose to finish a book and write a blog post. I am like this a week before my exams, the only difference being I have a coffee mug in my hand and I am constantly studying, or trying to. The result of several sleepless nights and two exams in a day was that I could not keep my eyes open during my exam. I always finish  an exam in two parts. The first one is where I finish everything I know and skip parts I have no clue about or I need to think too much for. The second part is that I actually think about those questions. A convenient solution to this is napping between parts 1 and 2. Especially if the exam involves essay questions. Again, you're welcome.
In conclusion, it was a fitting day to finish the book. Maybe at least on this day, a lot of people will finally get the most basic of arguments that if there will be no women, there will be no one to carry on the name of your family. Since complicated reasoning does not get through their thick heads, maybe this simple logic will.
Happy Women's day. Stay true to yourself, fight for yourself when someone tries to pull you down, act like a bitch if that's what it takes to get your message across, and keep that ego inflated. You're as awesome as everyone else in this world.   

Sunday, February 17, 2013

All about egos

The thing about egos is that everyone has one. It's easy enough to inflate one and deflate one too. It's easier to pop it like a bubble and its easy to let you ego guide your decisions.
The other day I said something about male egos and one of my friends remarked that it was all about egos for me. Pretending I didn't hear it, I asked him to repeat it, but he wouldn't. But the fact is, I heard it. It's as much about my ego as yours.
Who says the male ego is bigger and needs to be pampered? I have an ego as big as anyone else's and I'll go as far as to pay an extra 10 dollars for a cab than ask for a ride form someone who's taken a shot at my ego. I am a difficult person to deal with, both my best friends would vouch for that, even though they both live in different countries.
I'd rather have an ego and act like a bitch than act like a damsel in distress. 'll ask for help if I really really really need it. Otherwise, I'm good. Thankyouverymuch.
Isn't it those superior male egos that prompt a man to rape a woman when she questions his "mardangi". Like if he had any, he'd never get to the point of hurting a woman who bruised his ego. Yes it's all about egos with me because it's all about egos with the male population.
Isn't it the male ego that makes a man order for the entire table? When the rest of the people on the table are as capable of placing the order for the entire table as he is? Not like everyone lost their voices when the server came around. Pretty much all about egos.
Its all about egos. I am not saying women don't have egos, hell I have a hot balloon sized ego! But if you're going to tell me it's all about egos with you acting like you don't need your ego massaged ever, that's just bull shit.
Which brings me to the fact that I am not blaming anyone for having an ego or acting based on one's ego. That would make me a hypocrite. Butt, the bottom line is, you have one, face it. 

Saturday, February 16, 2013

Indian Weddings

Andddd I am back! Now that my dear little laptop is functional again, there will be an overload opinions on the rest of the world. There a lot of opinions on a lot of things floating out there and I am so glad mine is one of the many floating in the Internet atmosphere, like a balloon, or a cloud, or if its liquid, like a plastic bottle, or whatever objects floats will work !
My sister got married and that probably takes the award for the biggest event in my life in the last 1 year. Yes I am sure I wasn't the one getting married and it was still a big big big event for me, because hey, when the person you yell at all the time goes away and you don't have anyone else to yell at, it becomes a little tough to find someone else to yell at. There's only so much yelling you can do at your mom. Mine would not hear more than 1, no maybe 2 sentences and tell me to eat something, because that's what keeps me busy and keeps mu mouth shut.
It's a big thing to see your sibling get married. First and foremost, with the size of my family, my month long winter break became like one huge never ending festival. So much so that the few days after the wedding that I was still home, I kind of didn't know what to do with my time apart from packing, because there wasn't any work to be done, there was no where to run to , to finish errands and there was no one screaming their head off about how this aspect of the wedding hadn't been taken care of. Indian weddings are always fun, more so when you are at the slight off center of it, since my sister was at the center, that's the place that the rest of us sisters occupy. Seeing her get married made me realize how much I loved her, which I don;t say often, nor to her, or to anyone else. But I guess she knows, because every time I got mad when I was home, she'd be like Jigaaarrr this and that, and I'd be like ok ok ok.
Not to mention the numerous family dinners that we had and the amount of food I ate and the fact that I can now walk in a sari without having to hold on to any part of my sari. Yay me! Oh the lessons I have learnt during the wedding. Always be there where there is money involved, you can somehow claim you deserve some money too and get at least 1 Rs.100 note out of them. I literally left my breakfast plate full of jalebi and gathiya for one of those mini ceremonies for that. hah.
I am just glad that I will now have a double bed to sleep in when I go back home, since I have officially declared my sister's room as my own!